What I LOVE about Pro Wrestling: Reason One

by
"I hama Santino Marella anda I hama the best thing in ALL of pro wrestling!"

"I hama Santino Marella anda I hama the best thing in ALL of pro wrestling!"

Throughout the last 5 years or so I have slowly grown disinterested in pro wrestling for various reasons. Raw and Smackdown used to be must-watch TV for me, but as time has gone on I have gotten to a point where I no longer watch Raw live, and more often than not I fast forward through most of the shows that I record on my DVR. Diva matches, lengthy in ring promos, Legacy, none of these things interest me. The one thing that I will stop to watch regardless of the situation is anything involving Santino Marella. Between the comedic timing, the uni brow and the Eurotrash look Santino has carved out a niche as the finest bit of comic relief in wrestling. Is he a good wrestler? Hell if I know. The one thing I am certain of is that the goofy bastard can make me laugh like no one else. Five years ago I would have been dead set against the mere thought of Santino. Back then madeup terms like “moveset” and “workrate” hindered my ability to simply sit back and enjoy wrestling. Santino is living proof that being able to wrestle 5 star wankfests is a fine tool to have as a pro wrestler, but it is not a requisite. So here’s to you, Santino, reason #1 of why I LOVE pro wrestling!

Tags:

6 Responses to “What I LOVE about Pro Wrestling: Reason One”

  1. eric864 Says:

    The only thing is Im not sure if him being a face is a good thing. It was okay when he was feuding with Viki. But now he seems to kind of lost.

  2. dirk_funk Says:

    santino is the best thing about the wwe right now.

  3. contributoriv Says:

    Yeah they really need to do more with him than have him be ina comic reliefe skit with the weekly RAW host. It’s a safe bet He’ll be asking Jeremy Piven to be his agent next week which will be SO WACKY. They should probably also stop the whole “Chris Jericho confronting the Guest Host every week” bullsquid too.

    • Chris Sheehan Says:

      Agreed… the formula is already becoming quite tiresome.

      The Santino-wacky-guest-host-antic of the week is far less enjoyable to me than anything he did when paired with Beth Phoenix. Or even during his Honk-a-meter phase.

  4. Debbie Says:

    Wrestling used to be my favorite…bring back macho man randy savage…oh yeahhhhh

    • jesnowden Says:

      Debbie, there is a new Macho Man DVd set and he’s was awesome as you remember. Greatest wrestler ever.

Leave a Reply

